Celebrate Native American Heritage Month

In honor of Native American Heritage Month, I did this simple illustration to honor my ancestral tribe, the Absentee Shawnee.

shawneedance

The background circle is homage to the tribe’s flag, as well as the two eagle feathers, which honor the great warrior Tecumseh.

The woman wears the Shawnee Nation’s tribal flag around her, the blue which represents the open sky, the 12 white stars represent the 12 clans of the Shawnee and the 12 leaders.  The star at the top of the flag also represents Tecumseh, who is sometimes referred to as the Shooting Star. In her hair hangs two leaves of the white oak, representing the modern Shawnee.

 

After finishing, I decided I wanted to do something more to honor this month.  I want to sell prints for $25 from now until December – All the money I raise will go to the Absentee Shawnee Tribe in Shawnee, OK.  If I raise a lot, i’d like to split the money between the Absentee Shawnee and the American Indian Center here in Chicago.  If you are interested or know others who would be please spread the word!

 

I love ya’ll <3

 

btn_buynowCC_LG

One thought on “Celebrate Native American Heritage Month

  1. Pingback: YAY! The Native American Cookbook Debut! | Things I've Seen and Heard

Leave a Reply

