YAY! The Native American Cookbook Debut!

Every year in honor of Native American Heritage Month I make something specifically for this this celebratory time.   Last year I made “Shawnee Dance“, but this year I have something extra special to share with all of you:

Native Book front cover

 

This is has been a year long project, months of research, and even a whole dinner extravaganza dedicated to trying these recipes, all to bring you a beautifully illustrated unique collection of native foods.  Not only are all these recipes traditionally from different Indigenous tribes around the united states, but all of the ingredients are native to the americas, all of the recipes but one are from “Pre-European Contact”, and most of them are Allergen Friendly, Vegan and Gluten Free! (So hip)

Native Back cover

 

Every year during the month of November (NAHM) I sell my new creation, not for profit, but to raise money for two particular organizations.  First is the American Indian Center of Chicago, which puts on amazing events all year long as well as provides community, classes and workshops for both Native and non-native peoples in Chicago (for example, I am taking archery there!).  Depending on how much I raise each year, I want to be able to send something to the Absentee Shawnee Tribe in Shawnee Oklahoma, which is where my lineage is from and where my great grandfather was born.

Last year I raised $50, so i sent all of that to the AIC.  This year my goal is AT LEAST $100, so I can send $50 each.

 

This year, I will be selling the cookbook during the month of November for $15 and the Shawnee Dance Print for $10, OR BOTH for $20!   A seriously amazing (and delicious) deal :)

 

If you’re interested, please email RACHEL.F.T.FOSS@GMAIL.COM with your name, address, which items you would like to purchase – and I will send you an Invoice!

 

Thank you again everyone, I love you all.

 

 

Leave a Reply

